Imitate the Sunrise

Every sunrise is an invitation to brighten someone’s day.

In someone’s darkest hour your simple act of kindness may imitate the sunrise.

― Richelle E. Goodrich

After seeing two beautiful sunrises this week, I have been inspired to share the beauty of the beginning of a day. I invite, and even challenge you, to wake up early tomorrow to experience the glory of sunrise.

20150202-150358-54238303.jpg

Charlotte, North Carolina, USA

While working at Dollywood one summer during my college years, I found myself inspired by a fellow coworker. Past general retirement age, he had so much life experience and often gave me advice and cookies. In fact, each day he bought a giant theme park sized cookie for someone – sharing sunshine.

20150202-145914-53954972.jpg

Pemuteran, West Bali, Indonesia

It’s early. You were out late last night trying a new restaurant or going out to a new bar with some locals you met and the last thing you want to do is wake up early.

For me, watching the sunrise is one of the most peaceful times of day. I don’t do it often, but when I travel through beautiful places I would be missing out if I didn’t make myself wake up at least one morning to watch the sunrise.

The quietness clears your mind, the beautiful colors playing with the clouds inspires your soul.

― Caroline Eaton

20150202-150144-54104784.jpg

Okracoke Island, North Carolina, USA

20150202-150628-54388580.jpg

Myrtle Beach, South Carolina, USA

I have been able to share all of these beautiful moments alongside others.

For all the undocumented sunrises and sunshine-filled moments I do not get to share because of my life on the road, you are my sunrise.

Please comment here, Facebook, and/or post photos that inspire you.

11 thoughts on “Imitate the Sunrise

  1. Love your writing and observations. We go thru so many different situations on our lives and need to be reminded of the beginning of a new day!!! Every day is a do over and change the endings.

  2. Beautiful photos! I’m naturally more of a sunset kind-of-girl because I am so NOT a morning person. But your post reminds me that it is so worth dragging myself out of bed to enjoy a sunrise. Plus, it’s such a serene time of day to enjoy!

  3. And God gave a gentle brush of his hand to the morning colors and they woke and danced on the horizon gently coloring every place it could reach while the last tendrils of the nights sky released its grip from the new day.
    Love the pictures and the idea of posting your adventures is awesome.

Leave a Reply

