A Day Off… My Way

After a 4 day work trip away from home, one might think I would want to go home and relax before the next 4 day trip.

If you already know me, you are already laughing. You know what I do. For those who don’t know me yet and those who follow me around the world, allow me to share how I relax.

It’s 9am, we have one more flight to Knoxville. Afterward, I’ll have 3 days off. I spend the whole flight debating where to go.

Once we arrive, I decide I want to go to Las Vegas.

20150609-114210-42130212.jpg

We deplane, and I go to my car. I have 4 hours before I board a flight to Charlotte and then on to Vegas. I make 3 stops:

1.) Ross for a cheap top, handbag, and sunglasses for my Vegas day,
2.) It’s morning. I want cheap, Southern food. I admit this reluctantly – I went to Shoney’s,
3.) I need to figure out how to add more exercise to my life – I go to my health club & spa. Then I’m off, back to the airport. I’m relaxed and ready for more!

I have earned Diamond Status with HHonors. This program works so well with my nomadic lifestyle. Each month, I earn a hotel stay. Sometimes, I use these for commuting to work. I stay other places, of course, but this time it means a free night in Las Vegas!

After a relaxing night in, I’m off to the Strip. Gambling away a few dollars, I enjoy a few corrected coffees at the Tropicana before meeting a friend who’s spent the weekend celebrating becoming 30!

We put on Arctic Circle wear to enter an ice bar! Of course, we have a few drinks in cups made of ice before exploring Mandalay, MGM Grand, New York New York!

After a nice afternoon, he’s off to the airport and I’m off to Paris. That is, I’m headed to the spa for a massage and a facial! Mmmmmmmmmmh…..

Relaxed, I walk outside and dine on a Parisian terrace overlooking the swirling, dancing, romantic fountains of the Bellagio! So sweet are the sights!

Doubletree Las Vegas Airport, thank you so much for the faux Hemingway Dacquari, the complimentary shuttle rides to and from the Strip and airport, and for stowing away my bags while I had fun on the town!

It’s been a great day, I think, as I hop on a red eye to Charlotte. Tomorrow I’ll fulfill another dream….

20150609-114811-42491655.jpg

You can do it too! Sign up for every hotel reward program that is available to you and that you stay with. There are flights to Las Vegas from every major hub. You really only need 24 hours!

If you need advice on a quick, fun trip! Leave a comment below! Or, tell me about an adventure!

Leave a Reply

